Skip to content

Write to any soldier

July 21, 2010

OK. I am a peaceful soul, attempting to be Buddhist, and I am in nearly every instance opposed to war. I wish we spent more on education and less on killing. Now, with my political position articulated, I have compassion and concern for all of those deployed on behalf of our country.

I was browsing Anysoldier.com, and I began to realize how lonely it would be to be stationed way out in nowhere, without a WalMart or CVS nearby, in overwhelming heat, and get no mail. Holy smokes. No mail! I could not live like that!!

I picked an address for a unit from Massachusetts. I am going to penpal them, and send some of the small, inexpensive items they say they need (like lip balm, toothbrushes and other exotic stuff). Maybe my postcards will give someone a little smile on a hot day. It seems to be a well organized site:  someone volunteers to be the liaison, and will give out the mail to people who don’t get much. That’s nice.

Stay tuned. My first mailing is from the Sand Sculpting Festival at Hampton Beach, NH.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 21, 2010 5:02 PM

    A lovely idea. I think I will try to find out if there’s a similar program here.

Leave a Reply

