Skip to content

Postcrossing

October 18, 2010

I just love to visit Box 652!

I don’t get there daily, so when I do go, there is usually quite a pile of stuff. Much of that is junk — catalogs, pleas for money, and (of course) a few bills.

But… there among the dull debris of capitalism … there are some brights spots: 

postcards from my friends around the world. Today brought me a piece of Portugal, a taste of Taiwan, and a picture from Poland. I like to look at the stamps too. They are so diverse, and often reflect some bit of culture or history. Thank you to all my postcrossing friends, for your colorful images, and interesting postage.

An elliptical shaped card from Portugal, with a stamp showing an avocado.

 

A lovely scene from Taiwan, with a stamp of mushrooms. Our third year students are studying mushrooms! I’ll show them the stamp.

And, a view from Gdansk in Poland. The stamp was not food… It was history! Sieradz is a town on the Warta River in central Poland. It is one of the oldest towns in Poland.

The stamp might be a picture of the monastery there.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 18, 2010 11:26 PM

    Hi Sue,

    I just sent you a reply letter, so hopefully that will brighten up your PO Box as well!

    Kaz

Leave a Reply

