Skip to content

2010 – A year in review (Postcrossing)

January 7, 2011

Postcrossing sent me some lovely statistics, with pie charts in many colors. Oh, it was beautiful. I just wish I could copy and paste it here. But, no, (forlorn sigh), I cannot.

So, here are some summary items from my Year of Postcrossing.

I sent 135 cards. I received 129. (It continues to amaze me how well Postcrossing keeps these fairly synchronized.)

Finland (16), Netherlands (12), and Germany (12) were the countries that I sent most frequently to. The countries that I sent to only once were Singapore, Thailand, Turkey, Ireland, Greece, Hong Kong, Macao, Mexico, Malaysia. I mailed to a total of 31 countries in 2010.

For received postcards, Finland (17), Netherlands (13), and Germany (12) were at the top again, followed closely by Taiwan (11), and China (10). I received only one card from each of the following:  Luxemburg, Czech Republic, Switzerland, Mexico, Slovenia, Singapore, Australia, Iran, Latvia, Sweden, and Norway. I received cards from a total of 33 countries in 2010.

Ah, yes. It is a small world. Everyone is just a postage stamp away.

Peace, earthlings.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2011 3:00 AM

    I just saw the piece you sent to someone in the IUOMA Peace group, and it’s just wonderful — the heart cut within the map — So very nice. I’m hoping to try something like this soon.

  2. skwood1234 permalink*
    January 8, 2011 1:03 PM

    Thanks for your comment. I’m glad you liked it.

    I was working with our elementary students, teaching them pop-up cards, and migrated into the pop-up heart. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2H1FfX07B7k). I thought the heart, made from the world, was a sort of a metaphor for world peace. What a lot of fun there is in IUOMA!

  3. Cal permalink
    January 11, 2011 12:14 AM

    I only joined Postcrossing about 6 weeks ago, but I love it! A simple postcard, a stamp, and a few kind words to a stranger somewhere out there in the world can make you feel so good! Whether being on the sending or receiving end, the beauty and simplicity of this trade can wash away all the bad news on TV, the stresses of work, or life’s little upsets. I love finding a postcard in my mailbox and learning a little about the sender or their country. Just brilliant! It’s an amazing website and I encourage people who aren’t yet members to check it out!

Leave a Reply

