Skip to content

Sanibel, Florida

February 7, 2011

While on vacation in Sanibel, Florida, I took some paint chips to the beach with the intent of looking at the sky and doing a collage. Sitting with my tools in ‘pen shells’, sipping some wine from my collapsible camping cup, I created these two scenes.

The whole process was so engaging and what is often called ‘flow’. I really pushed myself to see the colors, and textures. Oh, the paint samples were a wonderful medium because they had the subtle gradations and shades of one color. I’m going to do this again sometime!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2011 7:47 PM

    I have never tried this before, but I am definitely going to after looking at your wonderful pieces!

  2. February 7, 2011 10:23 PM

    sue, these are so beautiful! what an amazing idea of what to do with paintchips—I love stealing them from the hardware store, but I’ve never come up with such a lovely use for them as this! hurrah!

  3. February 9, 2011 9:27 AM

    Love the materials you used. Great addition to any travel kit!

  4. February 10, 2011 6:43 PM

    Those came out great!

  5. February 13, 2011 3:41 PM

    Wow! I wish you had put the sky pic up on Mailart365! It looks amazing against the sky!

Leave a Reply

