Skip to content

U Turn – end of week 2

August 11, 2014

OK. Let’s take a minute to celebrate progress.

Lobsang, a Buddhist monk, emphasized that we should focus on progress, not perfection. I need to remember this, because sometimes I fall short of perfection (usually, in fact), and then just abandon the project, forgetting that progress is slow and lumpy.

progress-not-perfection2

One of my starting initiatives is to walk 10,000 steps every day. Seems reasonable enough as I live in an area that is not shelled daily by warring factions in some type of jihad or genocide. Thank you, God (by all your names), for giving me a safe place to live. OK, so I am starting with walking.

Since starting this U-Turn on July 29th, (2 weeks) I have accomplished the following:

  • Hiked Mt. Wachusett
  • Walked around Walden Pond
  • Walked 10,000 steps 10 out of 11 days.
  • Kept my fitbit on me every day.

Let’s talk about my fitbit. My fitbit counts steps, miles, and flights of stairs. It can keep track of how much I sleep, but, since sleeping is one of my personal strengths, I’m not too worried about that. Fitbit has a nice online dashboard where I can log what I eat, and see how my calories in and out relate.  I guess a second initiative is to keep my fitbit with me daily, to help me track my activity. Also, I just love graphs and charts, and fitbit makes so many of those.  Oh, and even if you do not own a fitbit gadget, you can set up an online account and track your foods and activity, and still have some nice graphs.

Activity Graph

[OK. The graph is a screen capture using Evernote. So, I am testing out a lot of various tech powers in this little blog-within-a-blog. Lucky you!]

So, to wrap up this initial 2 weeks. The goals:

  • walk 10,000 steps daily
  • wear fitbit
  • log my food in fitbit online
  • write about it in my new U-Turn portion of my blog.

For the next week, here’s what I’d like to add:

  • meditate 3 days for at least 10 minutes

Keep calm. Carry on.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

